The test and the 4th anniversary.
Saturday, 05/17/08 - 4:46 pm.

I took the TOEFL exam yesterday. I didn't feel it was long, even though I did take four hours. It's a very complete test, and very demanding, so there's no room to stop and breath. I think I did pretty well. I had time to re-check some answers, and I understood everything. I got nervous in my first two spoken answers, but I got the gist of it. Another of those was about psychology, so I found it particularly easy. I think I'm ready to study in an english-speaking country.

I thought I was going to be the only person taking it, but later a cute guy showed up. We stood in silence for a while, filling out our confidentiality agreement or whatever, but after a while he started out the conversation with the typical: "are you nervous?". So I learned he was studying medicine, and this is his last year. I told him about my brothers who are doctors, who are living and working in the States, and he seemed pretty excited, as he had similar goals. He reminded me of the real-life Freddy from the Scooby-Doo movie, except brunnette and way shorter.

I even gave him a ride after the test, he had to park in a mall nearby because the parking lot of the Center was full. I think I was allowed to park there, near the exit, only because I'm a girl. Anyway, he asked me for my e-mail, and I gave it to him. I don't know if he'll remember it. I think we hit it off pretty well, he was really nice and all. But I hope he doesn't remember it, because, you know, there wouldn't be much to talk about besides our scores. Or maybe our clinical interests.

The real news of the day is that today is my 4th anniversary with Joseph. I'd been waiting anxiously for this day. I don't know why, it doesn't feel that different now that it's come. I got him an Incubus CD, since he once said he'd love to have all of their albums. When he gets it he'll probably say "sweetheart, I could've just downloaded these", but I couldn't think of anything else to get him, and I did want to get him something. In a while, I'll go to his house and have pizza, and watch a movie, and whatever (probably the whatever part is the most exciting).

I'm kind of pissed that I missed most of my day: I spent almost two hours in the morning at the vet, waiting for Frog to get her shot. And in the afternoon, I just transcribed data for my thesis and slept, because it wasn't until today that the burden of the TOEFL kicked in.

Fuck it, I'll work tomorrow. It's my 4th anniversary. I've lasted with my boyfriend more that many hollywood marriages. Then again, that's not hard.

prev / next