A long, deep conversation with my niece.
Saturday, 07/27/08 - 12:08 pm.

Two nights ago, my niece and I stayed awake until 1:40 am, talking. It was an honest conversation, we went from how I met Joseph to the stupid boy she was dating that turned out to be receiving blowjobs from a friend of hers. She said a couple of times that she was loving this talk. I think she has no one else to talk to about this delicate and fundamental stuff.

She's a good girl, very smart. I think the reasons why she gets angry are valid. It was heartbreaking for me listening to some things Brother #1, her dad, told her. He insulted her and it even hurt me; it upset me. Speaking of him in good terms, though, he arrived from Houston yesterday, he'll stay here for two weeks. It was so awesome seeing him, I look forward to spending time with him.

Back to the valid reasons. Yeah, they're valid. But I do think she doesn't handle rage very well, and I told her. Today she yelled at her mom. It was ugly. Behaviors like this prompt her parents to consider sending her back to some place for problem kids and this angers her and frustates her more. So we are left with a never-ending hostile atmosphere. Boo.

I have no other choice than to be straightforward and tell her to cut the crap. We discussed her anger during our conversation and on a cognitive level she gets it. But she continues to behave badly and thus makes matters worse. She feels better when her parents are not around, and while I understand that they're partly responsible for this conflict, she is, too. She trusts me, I have no doubt about it, so I'll try to have another talk with her. She knows she has shoulders to lean on: me, my sister, my cousin Mario. She's very open with the three of us.

On less emotional news, I love Smash Bros. Melee, and I'm almost done with the definite draft of my thesis. Good night.

prev / next