A PhD, a suicide attempt , Froggie and a keeper.
Saturday, 08/23/08 - 9:21 pm.

I tried to update yesterday but the site was down. I was quite inspired and yet I didn't feel like writing it anywhere else. So, what a shame.

Last night was my brother #3's goodbye dinner. We invited close people to our family and that was it. I hadn't seen a funny cousin in a while, and his kids are cute. That was a plus. One of my cats, Mister, was parading around like a dog. Nena was nowhere to be seen, except when my dad started a speech and the two cats started to chase each other and create havoc. That was kind of awesome.

I kept thinking Frog would have been in hiding, too. She was very shy. Speaking of her, well...my life is back on track. Every now and then something about her breaks my heart and I miss her, but I've stopped crying every night, which is when I miss her the most. She'd come to my bedroom and sleep there, either on the floor or on my bed. That lazy piggie.

Back to brother #3, he goes to Guatemala on monday to FINALLY start his PhD. After a few rejections and scholarship fiascos, his dream has come true. I'm not that affected because he's sort of nearby and visiting him will be much cheaper than visiting my other two brothers in Texas. I'll get to see him about every two weeks. Still, it will be sad seeing him go and knowing he's not around in campus anymore. Anyway, I'm so proud of him.

Last night I found my friend Angie online. Long story short, she was going to commit suicide. I called her, all the way to Minnesota, and she was really bad. She said I was the only person she'd talked to in a long time. Her family treats her like shit and her boyfriend, she says, only haves her around to fuck her. She barely has any money to live on her own, she just started a new job; and moving out of her boyfriend's house (who pays for everything) would mean moving into her parents' home and she wouldn't stand it. She's been cutting herself and the dumb psychiatrist she was sent to just gave her pills. Come on, serotonin levels aren't the problem here.

I told her to hold on and make some money. That's the priority because it's her ticket out. She needs to leave that enviroment. One option it's that she comes back here, although she'd be on her own. I asked Joseph if he knew where she could stay and he offered his house. I'd also thought about my own house but I don't know what my parents would say. I suppose I could try. Even if they say no, due to room and money issues, I do know they'd be concerned about her and would try to lend her a hand in other ways.

Things have been rocky with Joseph, but he doesn't know. We had a little trouble yesterday and, to my surprise, he apologized for it today. Well...in my mind we had two separate problems, so I'm not really sure which behavior he was apologizing for. But I appreciated it nonetheless. He's a great boyfriend but some things about him do bother me, and that scares me. I really need to work on these things. He's a keeper, I don't want to lose him.

Well, I must get back to my therapy transcript. My patient has come a long way and we must have about only 10 sessions to go. Yay for her (and for me).

prev / next