I'll buy you beer often just to get that look.
Tuesday, 03/10/09 - 11:29 pm.

This morning I realized that yesterday, when I left work, I forgot to return the box with the money I manage to Mister Accountant's office. I didn't panic, but I was scared something might have happened to it overnight, like, say, dissapear. Or that, even though it was retrieved, I'd be severely scolded. But no. Mister Accountant is a sweetheart and acted like he was mad but in the end said he'd always have my back. I love my job. And it won't happen again!

Also, today I got a new task. I'm a fundraiser *throws confetti*! My two bosses called me to the office and it seemed serious and I was starting to get a little worried. The boss of my boss said that they've seen me around, listened to me and noted that I'm very smart, and that I could contribute more to the Foundation. And yeah, they think I'm smart. I don't know where people get that from; I'm not stupid, but I don't really talk a lot so they can't say I'm smart. Regardless, I felt a little like Adrian Veidt. I think they're pretty happy with me.

Tonight I was supposed to go out with CR and W after my patient. W had a patient too so we'd meet at the clinic and then pick up CR. W didn't show up, I'm guessing his patient cancelled. So it was going to be just him and I. For a moment I thought of calling it off, but I said, what the hell, let's enjoy the evening. Plus, both of these guys like debates and I'd have probably gone crazy listening to their shit.

I call CR and he says Al will join us. Holy crap. What a surprise. Something completely unexpected. I get happy because I'm all dressed up, with my best shirt and high heels and ponytail and yeah. So we went to some place a block away from my university (ah, it feels like ages since I studied there). Great place, great choice of music. 90's music, man!!! I just had to tell the waiter/cook so at the end; he said thank you with a grin, he seemed to appreciate people that appreciate good music.

So Al got there after a while and it was mostly Watchmen talk. They just can't get over the dissapointment. I didn't talk, so much for the chatty girl estereotype. In fact, I drove CR home and all the way, yakitty-yak about acid and colors and I really wasn't paying attention because I was thinking of Al.

I paid this time. It seems Al and I take turns to pay. This time he was broke so it was on me, no problem. Then I was invited to his car while they did some marijuana. It's the second time I keep them company, and it's sweet being in the passenger's seat next to him. He said he didn't want me to think this was all he did, that he's sober during the day. Fine by me, I know I just happen to catch him at night. And then they talked about a hardcore acid trip they once had, and hey, one day when I grow up I'll take some, just to open the doors of my perception. Al said I should, but then said he didn't want to be a bad influence for me. This is like the third time he's like looking out for me about drugs.

Then they walked me to my car. Al had to work early so I offered to take CR home. I always do, but he always insists on driving him himself (I suppose so they can smoke a little more). We kissed goodbye on the cheek and I caught a look in his eyes...my heart hurt, like somebody punched it. I believe it's the look of a boy who's grateful because you bought him beer, but for me it was still...holy shit, this man is gorgeous. I'd been looking at him the whole night, feeling pretty confident: I don't like this guy, not romantically. We're starting to be friends, he joked on forming an elite book club and the three of us would be founders and whoever wanted to join would have to endure humilliating tasks. He likes to read, it seems.

And I like him. Dammit.

prev / next