Temporary triumph and the disorder.
Monday, 03/16/09 - 10:46 pm.

So the party I was rooting for won the election. My whole family took to the streets to celebrate, as thousands of people did. It's something to remember, you got in your car and everything outside was red and happy and people was honking and screaming and waving at you like old friends. Rough times are ahead for sure, regardless of who's in charge, but I trust the elected guy and the people behind him have a better vision/plan than the non-elected guy et al, and will carry it out accordingly.

(I couldn't help thinking of Joseph while I was at the celebration; he used to ask me who I thought was going to win. I always said I didn't know, because the leftist had definitely more support from the people, while the right wing had all the means to pressure the ones who weren't supportive by their own will...yes, but who do you think is going to win?, he insisted. I'd say the same thing again. I'd say who I wanted to win, but I wasn't sure that'd happen. These couple of days, my heart has been aching a little over Joseph. It's just nostalgia, I guess. And at the celebration, I laughed at him briefly).

In spite of such news, I'm feeling very down tonight. My niece has, officially, Borderline Personality Disorder. It only makes sense, and while it helps explains a lot of things, it's just frustrating. I dedicated an entire semester to write a research on BPD, so I know my share. And given the severity and the accuracy of her symptoms, I suppose it'd be safe to diagnose it even though she's just 15.

She's like an autistic girl, always on a corner, away from everybody, listening to her iPod. She thinks that by getting a job at Shipley's, she'll get by on her own. I wish I could talk to her, but I don't know how to initiate the conversation and I'd rather for her to be the one to start it. And anyway, I don't think I could say anything that would keep her from hitting her parents next time she gets mad. While I don't justify anything, looking back, a lot of little things in her upbringing have added up.

And it's frustrating because these things don't just go away. Yes, there's treatment, but it's a long, painful one, and it depends on how much effort the person puts in it. It's frustrating, because she's annoying and her behaviors anger me; because she hurts her family, verbally and physically, on a daily basis. Her parents are damned if they do, damned if they don't.

Oh, well. I'm not really in the mood to articulate anything else.

prev / next