It's a crush but it shall pass. I have bigger plans for him.
Friday, 05.14.10 - 4:25 pm.

Fuck, I've been putting off updating this. I've been busy, you know: putting together my friend/mentor W.'s doctoral thesis (!!!), preparing my clinical cases, writing a piece for my narrative workshop...and putting things off, generally. I admit it.

I haven't written the piece at all. That's very unlike me and it's due tomorrow. I suppose I fear sitting down and writing when I'm not inspired. But writing is working, you know? I should be more dilligent.

The big happening of this week, that I have failed to write about, is that I'm getting Simeon animated. In that respect, on monday I met with two kids who are incredible designers and animators. They're kids, yes. It's Sam, 18, and Karla, 19 (or is it 20?). She goes to the same art school Lighthouse attended in Vancouver. They are so, so talented and it's such an honor that they paid attention to my humble comics and decided to do this mash-up.

In fact, they are coming to my house in a couple of hours. One of the tasks that also has kept me busy...no, wait, one of the tasks I've been putting off is take Simeon and all things related and make a comprehensive package and go register it as my intellectual property. It's only fair.

You know, I had a crush on Sam. Which is stupid, he's the same age as my Nephew #1, for starters. He's cute, and smart, and talented, and yeah. But I think, hey, if he's animating Simeon, pretty much the one thing I'm the most proud of when it comes to things I've done, it'd be rare if I didn't crush on him. Because you see, Simeon is not to be animated by just anybody. Meh. I'll manage. It'll pass. I need to stablish a long-term relationship with him...he and Karla are the people I need to take Simeon to the next level.

Claudia talked to me over Skype. She was sweet, as she always is. She told me her side of the story and listened to mine. She was surprised over what happened. Like I told her, I didn't tell her this to come between her relationship with Art, whatever they have. She tried to show me she knew it was a fantasy but she's also trapped in the feeling. Just like I was: you know it's stupid, and illusion, but you're already stuck in it. I felt validated by her, we spoke for about an hour. Whatever she decides to do, I got as much justice as I could get. I got to speak up about the hurt and I warned her. The rest is up to her.

JC sent me three e-mails this week. Two about the Soccer World Cup (he's trying to teach me) and one about that old awesome show, Taz-mania. He called me, too, I don't know if I mentioned that in my past entries. We talked stuff, nothing important.

And today I saw a picture of him at a party, with his arm around his ex-ex-girlfriend's. I'm fine without him, we get along nicely as friends and I was sure he was dating her again. Regardless, seeing that image hurt me. I see her and I feel like I was someone he just screwed around with. I know he didn't mean for things to turn out like this, but the result is the same: he dumped her, he had fun with me, he got back to her. I know, I know there was no ill intention on his part and he was just stupid. But I think eventually I'll delete him from FB, too.

With all these businesses going on, Joseph has been a distant memory. Still someone who pops in my head every fucking day, but I'm able to smile because I feel free and useful and cool by all the things I'm doing.

prev / next