Thank you, 2011.
Saturday, 12.31.2011 - 6:28 pm.

2011 has been the best year of my life so far. After struggling for a few years, my dream of studying abroad came true and I won the world: knowledge, awareness, initiative to act, freedom, and the most awesome partner I could have imagined (to whom I'm about to write a letter to tell him how I strongly feel for him).

I published a book, I stepped on three countries, I saved animals directly or indirectly, I worked at a cancer hospital, I learned how to make baby steps to change specific parts of the world, I met interesting people. And I get to end the year surrounded by my family.

The ghost of Joseph is always there, perhaps making me a case of post-traumatic stress disorder. But I've become more skillful at handling this, at controlling my thoughts, at looking at what I have now instead of what happened before. Even that is a pretty valuable lesson.

It's been a nice day, seeing good friends and having people over to visit. There are still a few hours to go before the year ends here, but I want to take the time to express how grateful I am for who I am and for what I have all around me. Globally, it's been a very inspiring year...the world is full of suffering for all species, but another world is possible, as they say. But, you know, in order to find it/build it/achieve it, you gotta DO.

Thank you, 2011. I'll make the most out of 2012.

Happy New Year, dear diary and readers!!!

prev / next