Living together in any apartment.
Monday, 04.30.2012 - 4:15 pm.

At least I'll have the dignity to write one more entry before April ends. Sorry, dear diary, but I'm sure you'll understand, with my draft papers for two electives, my thesis and my two patients (the third deserves an entry of its own). Life is coming along nicely, with a few ups and downs, but nothing out of this world.

The biggest news: Andrew and I are moving out. Last week we found out the landlady is in major debt with the past administration of this building and she's clearly not willing to pay up. She told us we should not mind that and sign the lease for one more year as planned, but yeah, no, thanks. She wants to send her lawyer for this instead of paying; no payment means no electricity in the apartment by mid-May. The current administration knows Andrew and I are always on time with the bills so it's a sad situation.

The landlady has been very shady in other aspects of the contract so we decided to skip the drama altogether and just find a new place. I walked around one morning with no luck, but at noon that same day, Andrew asked the doorman. The doorman said a man was putting his apt for lease and said, "look, there he goes right now", the man was walking into the building; he doesn't even live in this city, he was in town for a couple of days. Andrew is an atheist so I didn't say antyhing, but I couldn't help feeling there was Someone lending us a hand. I was scared of telling the lady we were leaving without having a place to go, but the very same day we had set to fire that e-mail, we found that place.

It's a bit more expensive, but it's also bigger, three bedrooms and two bathrooms. The next day we signed the contract and this man is so nice and trusts in us so much (also the doormen have given good references about us, yay) that said we could move in right away if we wanted. We have the whole month, if we still have electricity here, and we have to repair some things and clean. It's one building away in the same apartment complex, so we can easily move small stuff day in and day out while we take on bigger tasks like painting the walls and moving furniture. I'm excited about this, although I'll kind of miss the view to a busy street.

Yesterday I met Andrew's dad. He's a very sweet, nice man and I think he was more nervous about meeting me than I was meeting him. We didn't speak much but I'm pretty sure he liked me. We had coffee, the three of us, and then went to show him our new apartment. I've been very lucky with the in-laws I've come across in my life, the two sets I've met, anyway (Joseph's and Q's parents). They've been very nice to me and very fond of me. Andrew's mom sent me a wool blanket last time she was in town, I was very grateful by the gift and the sentiment behind it. I have yet to meet her though.

But speaking of Andrew...everything's going well with him, but sometimes a little thing happens that bothers me (could be a comment or a behavior), and I keep quiet because I don't want to make a big deal out of it, and days later I find myself with a bunch of tiny things, a bunch that does matter and angers me a little. I know I shouldn't keep it inside if it bothers me so much, but at the moment I deal with it, all rational-emotive-ish, and I'm ok. Then I do damage control tellimg myself that he doesn't do it to spite me, this isn't personal, this isn't about me.

But I tend to get hung up on certain things (if you've noticed that I've spent eight years in this diary talking about an ex-boyfriend, four of which he wasn't with me anymore). And I've noticed I've been moody, and my recently-arrived period may have something to do with it. I've never considered myself very hormonal but I do feel especially sensitive these days, and it's been "these days" for a few months now. So I'll see how I feel about all this once I feel less emotional.

I've been with Andrew the whole weekend, he took friday afternoon off from work and due to Labor's Day, he goes back to work until wednesday. He's a gamer, you see, so he spends quite a few hours on the computer and it's like he's not here, except for the noise. I can live with that, I have my own things to do...unless the game goes on for longer than expected and it makes me go hungry, but then I tell him so and, in the worst escenario, I just start eating and he understands. But yeah, sometimes I catch some things eating me away. Makes me wish I was more assertive, although I've come a long way.

Don't get me wrong, though, we've been having fun, too. He cooks delicious meals and we go out with friends. This long weekend we've gone out for dinner two times, and we went to see The Avengers (Andrew was having such a nerdgasm, but it's truly a great movie), and tonight he's cooking for friends that are coming over. I can't complain. Ups and downs, as I said, but overall, a very satisfactory relationship.

I realize it's strange that I talk all rational about this relationship, instead of just saying, "ZOMFG I'm in love with him!". I'm in love with him, so much, but I think there's a whole lot more to staying together, especially once the couple is living together. However, I can't deny it helps that I love when I fall asleep with his arm around me.

Winter IS coming, it's a rainy day. And he's making me coffee.

prev / next