To the lake and La Sierra. BRB.
Thursday, 06.14.2012 - 8:37 pm.

I don't think I'll be able to write in here until past the 25th. A hectic week and a half is coming: a trip tomorrow for Andrew's birthday (I'm driving!) in a hotel near a lake and a volcano. We return on saturday to have a get together with a bunch of his closest friends.

On tuesday, we take a flight to Santiago, and then to Peru the next day, to get to Bolivia on wednesday afternoon. My first time presenting in a psych congress, also! I'm not thinking much about that to avoid anxiety but I'll get to that any time soon, since I have to prepare for it.

I'm ready to take the week off: Andrew and I presented a draft paper for a class in advance, my thesis is on pause, and the clown doctors and my patient at the clinic have been informed of my absence and we will resume our work when I return. And I'll have new patients, too! The one I kept waiting for (with a history of incest) never showed up, after weeks of saying she would. I'm really sorry because she really, really needs help, but it seems she isn't quite ready to face her issues. Or maybe she was dissapointed because by the third session there were no results, which is expected, really. Or a bit of both. Or who knows.

Now, the novel. Or lack thereof. I modified and added stuff but it continues to be irrelevant, pointless, boring. Nothing vital is happening, I can't come up with real obstacles for the main character to overcome. While the plot is supposed to revolve about the heartache that Joseph was to me and how I faced it, now that seems very stupid and pointless. Ha! Look at me, shrugging that off as if it wasn't the most painful time in my life so far. But I don't mean that it wasn't hurtful or even traumatic; it's just that the story, told literally as I told it in this diary, isn't interesting enough to make up a novel, or at least I can't make it seem interesting. I make a twist here and there but I still can't come up with other essential elements that make a good story.

I'm so frustrated. But I'll make it work. Somehow, someday (please let it be soon. I like having things to write about).

But now, I'll just prepare for Andrew's birthday tomorrow! I got him a chocolate cupcake to put a candle on tomorrow morning, two very stylish scarves, and I'll make a nice breakfast. Not to mention our trip. We leave after lunchtime, we'll be picking up the car he's rented for us and OMFG I'll be driving to this wonderful place. Maybe I can write in here before going to Bolivia. Or not, whatever.

Look at me, going places!

prev / next