Bullets for the first days of november.
Sunday, 11.04.2012 - 8:47 pm.

I'll make bullets. My thoughts and relevant events are all over the place.

* I started this month without the puppies, but by now I'm at peace with that. I still hate that they spend most of their time in a cage at the vet clinic though (they could go out to the yard but they're under observation). I went to see them last week and they were much bigger than the week before. And even more adorable. Also, they're at a destructive age and poop a lot, so it would have been insane having them in the apartment. Both have been promised a nice home by the time they turn two months old, at the end of the month. Yay for that.

* Andrew's parents, brother and nephew all came into town for the long weekend and to celebrate his mom's birthday. They stayed at Andrew's grandparents' house. They're all really nice and sweet, though that also makes me long for my own family sometimes. The only bad thing is that here people love eating lamb and Andrew's grandad and dad have the tradition (like many others) of buying the lamb alive and killing him themselves. I saw Andrew carrying the lamb's corpse inside a black bag from his dad's car into the house. It horrifies me and to me lamb tastes like a zoo. Like a zoo. But I can't mess with a lot of societal norms. I avoid meat when it's up to me (if you must know, I also avoid cosmetics tested on animals and animal-based "entertainment". Still doesn't cover everything but I'm trying).

* Today I finished the first draft of my thesis! This day wouldn't come soon enough but also I'm worried about having made a lot of mistakes. What would you expect, though, my professor is practically non-existant. I e-mailed him the draft this afternoon but who knows if he'll check it. I'm supposed to submit my thesis in two weeks if I want to present it in december. And I want to, of course, so I can start gathering all the documents needed to apply for permanent residence here. I have a lot of deadlines to meet these upcoming months, wish me luck.

* Andrew and I cancelled our presentation at a congress next week. We have a congress or trip scheduled every week this month and getting rid of one is a weight off our backs. We simply lost our ride. It's a 4-hour car ride and we were making a round-trip on friday. But the friend we were going with withdrew her presentation; she and I were going to share the wheel. So Andrew and I either rented a car and had me driving all the way (I wouldn't mind much but Andrew said he'd feel guilty), or took the 6-hour bus ride. Renting a car + gas was too extensive and driving 8 hours sounded exhausting. And there was no bus schedule to get us on time for friday so we'd have to travel the day before and that meant finding a hotel and most are booked by now and anyway, all that is out of our budget. It's just a small research of our own, on eating meat and vegetarianism (heh). We're presenting it at another congress this month and we'll try to get it published.

* I love talking to my family. I love talking to my sister over the phone because even if that means I go overboard with the Skype bill, she tells me everything that's going on. My parents talk very quickly over the phone, but on camera on Skype it's much more fun. When I hung up I have this huge smile on my face and that warm feeling stays with me for hours.

* Nephew #1 is in NYU but luckily he wasn't affected by Sandy. We've exchanged a few messages about it. Alec Baldwin came to see NYU students but he missed him because he went out to eat. Oh, well. Eating is important.

* I dreamed of JC a few nights ago. I don't think of him much nowadays, and of course at this point in life I'm over the hurt of feeling used. Looking back, I got carried away with him, I was ridiculously excited over being with someone as hilarious and witty. But I don't feel the need to get back in touch with him. I'm afraid I'll always look at him and say, "damn, I was his rebound", even if that wasn't his intention. I don't enjoy holding a grudge but I haven't found alternative cognitions to make it go away. Maybe if I cared to get in touch with him ever again I'd work on that.

* NEPHEW #2 IS COMING ON THE 23rd! I can't wait. I'm so looking forward to his month-long visit and Andrew does nothing but fuel my excitement.

* I'm so in love with Andrew. Sometimes we are victims of our own routine but even then I can't look at him without feeling this tickling in my heart. Then the routine slows down for a little while and we have a moment for ourselves and it's just wonderful. As he is.

prev / next