Nephew is here (and I'm leaving for a couple of days, again!)!
Tuesday, 11.27.2012 - 6:51 pm.

This past weekend, Andrew and I flew to Santiago to pick up Nephew #2 at the airport on friday, and to see Pulp on saturday.

So yes, Nephew's finally here! He's 16 years old, he's a bit taller than me now. We grew up together and have travelled together so he's like a little brother. He brought me a lot of my books, thanks to my sister and her dedication to fit in everything so neatly in two suitcases.

So we picked him up on friday night and we spent the whole saturday morning and afternoon sightseeing in Santiago. It was killer but worth it, he had a great time and got loot for him, his girlfriend (aaww) and some friends.

That same evening Andrew and I attended the Pulp concert, which was so awesome. Before that, though, we had to wait for over six hours, for it was a festival and we had to listen to other bands, some nice, some lame. Pulp came on stage at midnight, under a bright moon. At nearly 2 am, in an open field, a bunch of Andrew's friends gathered, hallucinating over what had just happened. I walked out of there feeling...grateful? I felt grateful for such a good show. I've seen Aerosmith and Paul McCartney, once my obsessions to death, and I did feel grateful for the opportunity of being there. But this is a different gratefulness, I can't quite explain it.

Anyway. On sunday noon, Andrew, Nephew and I boarded a plane back home. It's been a smooth transition since then and we have adjusted to being three in the apartment. Nephew is such an easygoing kid and he hit it off very well with Andrew. They both enjoy similar things, like playing LoL and watching The Walking Dead and Seinfeld and other stuff. They played together for hours yesterday like good buddies, speaking gibberish I couldn't understand.

And Andrew, ever the thoughtful guy, bought Nephew a cell phone for any emergency. And a charger for his Nintendo DS, and some decoration for the bulb in his bedroom. As far as I'm concerned, they're both family now and that makes me incredibly happy.

Andrew went to Buenos Aires today, for yet another congress. I'm hopping on a bus in about six hours (at 1:30 am!) to Santiago again, for the annual dinner of the scholarship agency. It annoys me to no end for several reasons, this whole trip, but hey, they brought me here. I have to deal with the 9-hour long bus ride overnight, with spending the day in the big city (hopefully in my hotel room, though of course I'll have a roommate), walking/taking a cab to get to the dinner, and enduring another 9-hour long bus ride back home on thursday...during the day!

I will take the chance to read and catch up with my writing. There really is nothing else to do, anyway, besides sleeping. I'm returning on thursday night, so my Nephew will be home alone on wednesday and thursday. I've left him the keys and I've showed him around in case he wants to go out but I doubt he'll leave the house: he's loaded on movies, TV series, his own laptop with WiFi, all kinds of food and two cats.

And me, I have to finish get ready for the trip. I just have to be mindful and be present in each little step: packing, calling a cab, taking the bus, getting to the hotel...one step at a time. Friday can't come soon enough. Here's hoping it will.

prev / next