Going home in the name of academia and social conventions.
Tuesday, 07.15.2014 - 9:40 am.

I'm just coming in for a quick entry before Andrew and I leave for my home country. First out of three flights is tonight. We'll be there by tomorrow at noon. It's going to be a very exhausting trip, flying all night and waiting in Panama all morning, but hopefully it'll be calm and uneventful.

My family is waiting for me, for us. A few friends are too but I haven't told a lot of people that I'm coming, let alone broadcast it on social networks. We're going with limited time, using our vacation time (we need it, after last semester and the one coming up) and my two older brothers are flying from the US to see us. We have the congress next week and the small get-together with friends and family on the 26th: a mass and lunch to "celebrate our engagement". That's the best name we could come up with and the most we could be bothered with.

Some of our friends here will come over to the apartment to check on our cats everyday, until we return on the 28th. I'll miss the cats so much, I can't hug them goodbye enough, mostly because they won't let me.

The flight is at 8 pm and our bags are packed but we still a lot of things to get ready and some errands to run. Hopefully I'll be able to update while I'm there but if not, wish us luck and have yourself a nice couple of weeks!

prev / next