Body and car under repairment, and an unsuspecting bachelorette.
Friday, 02.20.2015 - 8:38 pm.

I went to the doctor. It's quite possible that I'm lactose intolerant. Or that I have a functional irritable syndrome all over my digestive system. I'm getting some tests run next week and we'll see. As for my dream of the overflowing toilet, some of it kinda sorta came true, given that I have to take samples of my stool. Nice.

Andrew and I had talked about making the effort, money-wise, of seeing Jack White live next month, and I was up to it, until the doctor's bill hit me. The health insurance didn't cover it. And it angered me because I pay a lot for health insurance, on account of being a fucking woman in her fertile years. But I am relieved, because I liked this doctor, he took the time to explain everything and while tests are expensive, I appreciate getting all the information I can get.

Speaking of bills hitting me, we also got a long bill for our car. Our very first one. We took it to the shop because it didn't pass the required revisions by law, in order to update the registration. I mean, the car is ok, only one thing needed to be fixed but that alone was expensive. Also, the people at the shop took it to the revision again for us, and this time it passed. That's kind of shady, and they also overcharged us for that, but there you go. The silver lining is that we passed and now we can forget about it.

This afternoon, when Andrew told me how much it was going to cost, I let out a very loud, heartfelt "FUCK". Because I didn't think it was going to be that expensive but also because I was finishing an episode of Mad Men and I had all this tension building up inside. But it seems my reaction upset Andrew a lot, because he's been weird since then.

Actually, he's been too weird for just a reaction, so perhaps it's something else. He went out to practice driving with a friend earlier and then came back, but I don't remember if he seemed upset then. He looks both angry and like he wants to cry, and on our way home from the car shop he was snapping at other drivers. Although to be fair, people seemed particularly stupid behind the wheel this afternoon. I hear him sniffing from the living room right now. Perhaps it's about his brother?

I can tell he's in a bad mood. but I asked what was wrong and he said nothing, so I won't insist.

Onto other news...tomorrow I'm hosting a bachelorette party for my vet friend, Karin. I never thought I'd be doing such a thing but there you go, the things you do for a friend. Luckily it hasn't taken as much effort as I thought it would. It's a surprise and the groom is on board, we made up something about getting together for dinner tomorrow night, our circle of friends. I hope everything goes well. So far, so good.

And don't be fooled by the name of the event. The only kinky thing in all this is her veil with tiny penises stuck to it (which Karin herself bought for my BP, that'll show her) and the lingerie we bought collectively. The rest is just food and drinks. Call it boring but it's all I can pull off. She isn't a party girl, luckily, so I'm guessing she'll appreciate it. I hope the other women attending are also low-key. I only know two out of the nine guests.

So there. Next week is our last week of vacation. I'll try to be mindful and live in the moment as much as I can.

prev / next