Time of my life.
Thursday, 10.08.2015 - 8:59 pm.

Well, the very same day of my last entry, I found myself with internet connection at home! So since then until today, I was up and running. I say until today because I woke up to no internet again, but I think it has to do with the service being originally set up today. Hopefully it'll be back tomorrow.

Other than that: I'm having the time of my life. We're into our third week in the UK, our second week at our house. I got the first scholarship payment so we've been able to buy some stuff to make ourselves at home and be comfortable. The weather is wonderful, autumn at its best, and the university is a 25-minute walk downhill. Usually we take the bus back home, and we get student discount.

I have an officemate, we speak little to each other but we get along nicely. We're warned over and over how working on the PhD can be a very isolating activity, so Andrew and I try to socialize a little beyond ourselves, though we are each other's go-to point. We've missed a few get-togethers of the Psychology Postgraduate Society but there are always more to come.

I'm starting to feel a little bit like a failure but I was also told this was normal, particularly as I'm just starting and my ideas are all over the place. My supervisor is very nice and guides me through all the things I have to improve.

It was just today that I realized that it's John Lennon's 75th birthday tomorrow and I'm two hours away from Liverpool. I started looking for events and train tickets in the afternoon, but no, no way I can make it. I kicked myself for not thinking ahead but Liverpool isn't going anywhere, is it? It would have been nice to be there for such celebration, but hopefully I can go when my finances are more stable.

This should be my update for today. I'm trying to get back on track with my writing. My book is circulating in bookstores all over Chile (!) and my dad is moving it around in my hometown. Some people, friends and family, have bought it, either in print or as e-book, and I appreciate it. I feel like starting another set of stories, maybe even try to write something longer (however, I suck at coming up with plots). That, and my blogs. I need to insert non-academic writing in my daily routine, that has yet to happen.

And reading! Andrew and I found a bookstore here and I died of joy. Everything is awesome. Truly, we're having the time of our lives.

prev / next