Back to work, paid and unpaid
Saturday, Feb. 27, 2021 - 11:32 am.

The last couple of days I've suffered an unbereable bitterness over assorted topics:

(1) This Sunday's elections in my home country, in which the dictator's candidates will most likely win by a landslide, effectively taking the country hostage;
(2) My resentment over some stuff with my girlfriend, but because I insist on interpreting some of her reactions as a personal affront, which they are not. Far from it, she's an angel to me;
(3) Making Andrew feel responsible over the fate of a kitten we found on the street, and which we left there.

As for (3), I turned to him because I trusted he'd tell me no, let's not take the kitten, we're not in conditions to take care of it. I didn't know what to do, it looked well taken care of and was very sociable, to the point that it started to follow us. What if it belonged to someone? Though, if that was the case, they were irresponsible for letting it roam on the streets, and they deserved to have their kitty taken away.

Still, I turned to Andrew, because I was *this close* to take it with us, and I trusted he'd be the voice I reason. I knew it would complicate our daily life and our finances (first things firts, you take them to the vet). He got mad for my holding him responsible for the fate of three cats, this one and ours, who would have to deal with it. That was not my intention, but he was right nevertheless.

Anyway! The bitterness passed, thankfully. It was cured by me closing off to the world and doing an illustration for an online store I may or may not set up. That and sushi and a movie with Andrew last night. All was right again, at least in my little world.

Besides that, I don't have much to say. The summer break has come to an end, we go back to work on Monday. I'm slightly excited and sort of looking forward to doing some research-related things. Plus, our routine wouldn't change much as we're still working from home.

I do hate to stop working on my drawings and writing during the day, but these things don't pay the bills. Quite the opposite, I continue to having to pay for being able to share what I draw and write, often to an engaged audience of two or three people. Setting up the online store (an evidence-based idea from my girlfriend, who's very business savvy but I'm not) is a risk of continuing that trend.

I'm not an artist, and I'm certainly not a businesswoman. Yet, I can't imagine not giving this a try.

So this is all, let's keep it short and sweet. I don't want to dwell on the negative stuff from the first paragraph, and good things seem be in the horizon. Some of these things are work-related, some are not. Overall, things continue being OK for us, which is a relief and a huge privilege. It's something to always feel grateful for.

Be well, stay safe.

prev / next