Knowledgeable nods
Saturday, Oct. 02, 2021 - 3:56 pm.

I'm hungover, which means I haven't done a damn thing today. I still have a bit of a headache after drinking gin last night, when Andrew and I got together with my boss for a lovely evening. I didn’t drink much nor too fast, I was proud for pacing myself enough that it didn’t hit me. But here I am, hungover.

On the work front, something exciting: I may be having my first doctoral thesis to supervise! I met with the candidate online and when he popped on my screen my mental scan immediately went: “not straight”. He wants to do his PhD on sexual stigma, and a couple of times he and I spoke about our “personal interest” in researching these issues.

When I told him I was very interested in doing research about disclosure, because people think you come out once when in reality you do it throughout your life, he nodded. It wasn’t a “oh, I see” nod but a “oh, I KNOW” nod. God bless.

On another note, my dad turned 85 this week. I’m trying to make up for all the bitterness I’ve thrown in here about my parents by calling them during the week, besides our weekly videocall. After all, I have plenty of reasons to be grateful that they’re around.

My head is hurting so this is where I stop. Let’s celebrate October, though! I wish I could feel more festive about the last months of the year, but it’s not the same here. Not the same as in Sheffield, I mean, and not even in that hellhole that is my beloved home country. I much prefer this part of the year in the Northern hemisphere.

Lastly, a lot of restrictions have been lifted in this country and life will return to normal-ish even more. Yet contagion is still on the rise. Who the fuck knows what's going on. I’m just crossing my fingers everything will be better by then time I have to travel to my home country at the end of the year.

Be well, stay safe.

prev / next