Sick for a week.
Friday, Aug. 26, 2022 - 5:50 pm.

Well, of course I didn't have covid, blessed be. On the minus side, I'm still sick. I've been sick for a week now, coughing a lot, feeling tired and constantly losing my voice.

Granted, I haven't had the chance to rest. This week I had to interact with people everyday, even go to uni, for meetings with my students, a seminar, being an evaluator at a two-day postgrad conference... It wasn't until today that I was able to rest, which is a euphemism for working from home without having to meet with anybody.

I know, I should've gone see a doctor and get proper time off work. I didn't think I'd be sick for so long, or that it'd be this bad. Having had covid probably made this worse, and having been infected with covid has altered my expectations, it seems. "What do you mean that I'll feel like crap for more than three days? This didn't happen with covid" (tongue in cheek, though, let's remember that covid has long-term consequences and that at some point my pulmonologist brother thought I was at risk of stopping breathing forever).

I'm too tired to write for long, so suffice to say that things are OK, cold/ear and throat infection/whatever this is notwithstanding. Andrew and I haven't had the chance to use the car due to my being sick. On the bright side, we're looking forward to September 1st when we can finally go see the house we want. Spring is coming, too.

There are a few other things in the horizon, bust most of them are work-related, and the weekend is starting. Fuck you, capitalism, I'm done with work until Monday.

Take care and stay safe.

prev / next