Ending the summer break with a wedding
Friday, Feb. 24, 2023 - 7:35 pm.

Well, our one-month vacation has very much come to an end. I didn't invest as much time as I expected on my writing and doodling, but I got lots of things done and most importantly, I rested and had fun. I took two online courses, one for make-up and one for making webtoons, so I also learned stuff!

We go back to work on Monday. Tomorrow and on Sunday, Andrew and I will be travelling to a town that's a three-hour-drive from us to attend the wedding of Andrew's cousin. I've managed to grow excited about this AND I'm excited about going back to work, so there's that. We'll have a nice road trip, enjoy ourselves at the wedding (I'll do my make-up!), and hopefully we'll be back home before noon on Sunday.

I can't stay long here because I have some things to prepare for the trip and around the house. Andrew's been amazing and has taken on more chores than usual so I can have more time to work on my projects, as this weekend is for him and his family. I do appreciate that he respects my time and helps me have more of it when he can. It's mutual, you know. I think we're great together because we understand the value of our time, both alone and together.

Bottom line: I had a great summer break. I couldn't cover everything on my list but I got plenty done. And now it's back to our regular schedule and onto a new academic year.

Oh, it's Niece #1's birthday today! I think she turns 29? Holy shit. It amazes me to realize that this diary contains my life with her when I was a teen and she was a kid, and I'd go spend Christmas breaks with her (and her brother and her parents). It does feel like another lifetime. She now likes to travel and looks really happy with her boyfriend, and I'm so happy for her. I wish nothing but the best for her, always and forever.

You have a good weekend and stay safe.

prev / next