Hi again. Don't call me back.
Thursday, 11/21/02 - 12:04 pm.

I have "Graduation Ceremony rehearsal" today. I'm not interested in a graduation ceremony, I wish they mailed my diploma.

Last night I thought about all the people I met these past two years in high school. I cherish the moments I shared with a lot of them, some people I met are very special, and I'll always remember them (a few of them, anyway).

But I do not miss any of them. Not a single one person. Not one of the 109 seniors that will be graduating with me on saturday. Not one. I don't feel the need to see them again. It's enough for me to remember them. And it's going to be enough for me that they remember me once in a while (once or twice a year it's enough).

Lately I've been wishing I was still the isolated junior weirdo that thought people suck. All that changed about people this year was the way I perceived them. Because I wasn't that broken piece of Lego that didn't fit anywhere anymore.

Right now, there's a mister in my living room, a friend of my dad's, that looks like Chevy Chase...I hate it when grown ups come up to you and say: aw, I carried you when you were *this* size...you don't remember me, do you?. It is advisable to just smile and say "yes, I do" (although I was afraid he'd ask "yeah? what's my name?").

It'd be hard to tell when I started faking. But today, after a long time, I feel I am myself again.

prev / next