Ringo, do you know what just happened to me?
Wednesday, 03/05/03 - 3:06 pm.

Today I sat and watched TV, channel 23 (it's a local channel, whose only purpose in life is to play videos...and I must admit, it's much better than Mtv and VH1 at that).

I, suddenly and unconsciously, looked at the tapes next to my VCR. Aerosmith's MTV Icon and The Beatles' A Hard Day's Night. I got up off the couch and grabbed The Beatles tape. I'd removed the cap. And so I placed masking tape, fixing the hole.

Meanwhile, Classics 23 was on. They play literally whatever is older than your mom's grandmother. I got to watch Roy Orbison (the guy who sings "Pretty Woman") playing live.

I got the tape inside the VHS, to see if it could record with the masking tape instead of the cap, "just in case". And it worked perfectly.

Less than one minute later, after commercials, a familiar image appeared on my TV...a tree and four shadows approaching...I quickly hit REC, because I was sure I'd seen that footage before. And it turned out to be the video for Strawberry Fields Forever (although I'm pretty sure the resolution was little dark).

Which is also a bit strange, because Strawberry Fields is the one song that's been on my mind all day.

It's happened to me before, with Aerosmith (I got to tape the performance of Train Kept A Rollin' at Mtv Unplugged). But it doesn't cease to amaze me. "Something may come on soon, just set the tape, you never know"...a hunch...I wonder where those things come from.

( What the fuck? .....no, wait...on second thought, it's a great idea.)

I just received a phone call for my dad. The lady left a message, and it turns out I now have a grave of my own in the cemetery. That's comforting, I guess.

prev / next