Family pride, "pretty face"? and, above all, Beatle Ed.
Wednesday, 04/02/03 - 01:13 am.

This day in Beatle history:
1967 - The Beatles finish recording the album "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band." The album tops Billboard's pop album chart for 15 weeks, longer than any Beatles album.

32 years, ago Ringo Starr releases his solo hit, "It Don't Come Easy." It would become his first top-10 hit (1971).

31 years ago, John Lennon and Yoko Ono hold a news conference in New York to discuss their appeal of the Immigration Department's decision to deport John (1972).

The Beatles are in the newspaper again today. About the Anthology DVD. Joy.

Also, I found out today that actor Michael Jeter passed away. I looked at the photograph in the newspaper, and although the name didn't do anything, I was sure I'd seen his face before, so I read on. He's Mr. Noodle, the guy in Elmo's World (Sesame Street). That broke my heart, Mr. Noodle always made me laugh. Rest in peace, Mr. Noodle.

Last night my brother Carlos gave a little speech at the UCA. It was a "welcome" for all of the people in the career of psychology, and given he's a professor there, he had to introduce himself. He also mentioned that his (my...I mean our) mom was the first female psychologist ever graduated in the country, and then he said he was happy to have his sister (yours truly) among the audience, starting the career. Since I heard he was going to speak in front of the audience I felt really proud of him, and it was great afterwards, when Angie and Victoria were going: "Oh, Gosh...HE is your brother?". I don't know why, but last night I had a stroke of pride for my family. My dad, my mom, my three brothers and my sister, they've all done things to get their names on a newspaper or a book, or even the internet (their own writing or even interviews). I don't want to brag, I'm just so proud. Even my nephew, Renan, is always chosen to sing in the National (United States) Choir, representing Texas.

Alan is in Washington right now, representing the doctors' union. They're still on strike (since september), and he was sent there to basically get help to solve the conflict, as the president just hides away here. He was in New York city, applying for a job at several hospitals, but nothing has come up. Then they sent him to Washington.

The first thought that crossed my mind when I opened the door to the garden this morning was "what a beautiful day". I've been in a good mood lately, since the weather changed (these past three days, specifically). Although this morning has been like crap, with people knocking on the door or calling on the phone, and trying to get ahold of my parents...I'll save the details. I couldn't read the fuckin' Oscar Wilde book, because I'm always interrupted....but that's alright. I'm still in a good mood.

- Cel: today we were talking about the yearbook, and Panda said Phil (*a common friend between her and me*)
- Cel: wrote a suicidal phrase.
- Me: kind of.
- Me: yeah, yeah.
- Cel: well, it wasn't suicidal, but that's what Panda said.
- Me: hehe
- Cel: and I explained to him that that was the phrase he turned in when he wouldn't give his photograph for the yearbook (*I wrote about this, I had a struggle with him, another boy and D, because they had decided they didn't want to be on the yearbook*).
- Cel: and so
- Cel: I kind of told him about the conflict, that neither Phil, Angel nor Denver would give their photographs.
- Me: yeah.
- Cel: and so he asked
- Me: (Panda?)
- Cel: Panda
- Cel: yes, Panda
- Me: (Or Beatle Ed?)
- Cel: how they were conviced to turn them in
- Cel: (hahahahahaha, Beatle Ed)
- Cel: and Denver pretended to hold me and made a sweet face, like an angel and begged: please, please, please...
- Cel: and then said
- Cel: "that's how I was convinced
- Me: aw.
- Cel: blackmailed by a pretty face".
- Me: pf.
- Me: blackmailed by the face of a refugee, I'd say.
- Me: He must hate me for that.
- Cel: Noooo, he said it smiling.
- Me: it was the Beatle Ed effect.
- Cel: hahahahahahahahaha
- Me: what did he say smiling? The "please, please, please" part?
- Cel: he said everything smiling.
- Me: I wasn't smiling when I was begging "please, please, please" (*when I was begging the guys to give me their photographs*).
- Me: (no, wait....I was)
- Me: oh, well.
- Me: if he had said that sad rather than smiling I'd think there's still hope.
- Cel: I don't get it.
- Cel: this I just told you it's a good thing, to my eyes.
- Me: it is cool indeed.
- Cel: ..... ok :(
- Me: no, really.
- Me: at least he remembers.
- Me: we'll have to thank Beatle Ed for that.
- Cel: haha, yeah, yeah.
- Me: DAMN YOU for making me smile.

Well...I don't know what to make out of Cel's story. I couldn't help smiling, because after all these times he still thinks of me, and even refers to me as a "pretty face". But....that's about it. I cried last night for that. I was happy to hear that, but I was sad because that's all there is to it. I'm pretty sure he'd have said the same if any other girl would have followed him everywhere, begging him (and the other two) for the photograph.

- GEORGE: I saw Beatle Ed.
- JOHN: Beatle Ed? How's he?
- GEORGE: he's a'right.

And George also saw Beatle Phil making a pig of himself.

prev / next