1950s and the 15-second trip with the boy.
Wednesday, 07/02/03 - 2:20 pm.

So 1 and I are in the cafeteria, it's 5:15 and I have my PA final at 6:30. And I mention that I feel like fries.

He asked me if I'd like to go to Burguer King, and I thought about it...and I said alright. The trip (or date, whatever you'd like to call it) was that sudden.

BK is right next to the main UCA entrance, so it took us more to go from the cafeteria to the entrance than from the entrance to Burguer King (actually, it took us 15 seconds, and could've taken us less, but we were walking slowly).

I like that place, because it has some sort of a 1950s United States Culture theme. There's this natural size Elvis in the middle of the restaurant, playing guitar. On some kind of pedestal, so his shoes are in front of your face (I think I already talked about this place, but I won't even bother to look for that entry).

- Me: let's sit here, I want to be with Elvis.
- Him: he's turning his back on us. You said you wanted to see him, don't you want some other table?
- Me: well, his ass is nice to be seen as well.

And he squeezed my hand really hard and looked at me, pretending to be mad. I was going to ask him how could he be jealous of someone that's dead, but I didn't, because then I remembered Elvis is not dead.

We stayed there until 6 o'clock. The place was practically empty. I had the fries and the apple pie, and he had two cups of coffee, orange soda and Hershey's chocolate pie. And that because coffee was free (one cup with each dessert). I told him not to get me anything to drink, but he insisted on buying soda. So he ended up drinking it.

He paid for everything, which is still a little awkward for me. The least I could do was hold the door for him on our way out, and that's when he felt awkward. "I should be the one who does that". A true gentleman indeed.

And it's also awkward that is the boy, and not the girl, who talks about getting married and having children.

Argh, I want dogs.

We came back to the UCA when the sun was setting (I stopped to look up the sky, that was unbelievable nice and fat), right on time for my final. On the way back we were eating the apple pie.

So that was yesterday. I won't see him again until monday. But he said "see you tomorrow" when we kissed goodbye last night. Just for kicks.

My cousin Mario, my dad, Rebeca and Javier (the youngest nephew) picked me up at the UCA. In a fuckin' 1950 Cadillac, the ones you can get rid of its roof. "Only 1,800 in the world!", Mario said proudly. Aw.

"Now THAT motherfucker is a car!" someone on the street yelled. It's odd to be riding in a car with no roof. And lovely, too.

(Today hasn't been so well but I won't spoil the entry by talking about it)

prev / next