And there comes a time when you learn that the "official truth" is a lie.
Thursday, 07/24/03 - 10:35 pm.

Today is my friend Head's birthday *hearts*

I've been trying to write an entry the entire day, but something would always come up...a nephew, most of times. Do this for me, do that for me...it's ok, though. I'm starting to panic over the thought of them leaving in a couple of weeks.

It's been an ok day. I went to the UCA to get my grades, I got 8.6, 9.2, 9.6 and 10. Not bad, I believe. Maybe I'll get a scholarship some day. Yay, Liverpool (yay, yeah, right).

At the UCA we went to the Museum Of The Martyrs (my parents, my nephew Renan and niece Rebeca, my brother Carlos who took a break -he works there as a professor- and yours truly). Renan specially was shocked to discover all the atrocities the soldiers did during the civil war, and he's been very sad ever since. It is something very hard to swallow. He lives in the USA, a completely different background. They know nothing about war in their own land, everything happens outside their boundaries. To hear that soldiers would throw babies up in the air and shoot them, or burn them alive, or kidnap, rape (we didn't say that to them) and kill a group of foreign nuns, or kill you for carrying a bible was too much for their innocence.

My dad asked afterwards if it was really a good idea to take them there. We all agreed that they're grown enough to start to understand and have some conscience of their own. Truth hurts so much, but one can't live in a bubble for the whole life, that's just not right.

Aside from that, everything's ok. I talked to Veronica today, we want to celebrate Rod's birthday next week. I talked to Angie, too, we want to celebrate Victor's birthday this weekend. I talked to 1. He's got a cold.

Alan is arriving tomorrow. My other brother and his wife (the parents of Renan and Rebeca), next week. And this sunday is my parental units' 35th anniversary. Quite an accomplishment, I say. Aw, my family. We'll be together, all of us, like we did for christmas. And this is something we didn't plan it. Jesus, thank God.

The weather is a little better today. It rained tonight.

Ok, bye.

prev / next