"Thank you, Mister Man, they said, thanking him" (John Lennon)
Thursday, 07/31/03 - 2:37 pm.

I woke up at 5:40 am, to catch Aerosmith on TV. I did. And then I went back to bed, happy to finally see them, after months.

Later on, I, my parental units and my nephews and niece, went to my favorite bookstore. It's a long story, what happened in there, and I still can't get over it.

Basically, I wanted a book on The Beatles, a "Dictionary" (it was more like an encyclopaedia). They had quite a few about The Beatles, all of them so interesting (except one, that seemed rather dull) all of them awfully expensive. Dad couldn't afford it, because the three kids had also bought a book each, and the one I chose was way too expensive, even with 50% off.

He said I could get another one, up to $10. I politely said no, I'm alright, thanks, dad. So I walked out of the bookstore with empty hands (well, I did have a cup of coffee in one), and...in spite of me, feeling shattered, and about to burst in tears (I know, how lame of me).

Mom went to the supermarket nearby, and the kids, my dad and I waited outside, walking around. There was this music store I've heard about, that was really good, but I wasn't thinking of going in. All I could think of was the books I perhaps would never get. I was mad at...the prices. I wouldn't mind the price if I had the money, but it just so happens I don't. To make it worse, there weren't a lot of copies of those books, just two or three of each (except for Anthology, because it had recently arrived and there was plenty of them). If I ever got the money anytime soon (hahahaha. Impossible), it wouldn't be soon enough.

Anyway, my niece spotted a Beatles poster inside the store, and I decided to go in. To my surprise, they had SO many Beatles albums, and even their solo careers ones. I thought those couldn't be found here....I tried to decide which one, and I ended up with Magical Mystery Tour (they even had Live At The BBC)!. I rushed out of the store and asked my dad if he could give me the $10 he'd have bought another book with, plus $10 I'd pay him back at home. I rushed back in, picked ip up and paid for it (and I paid my dad back, of course).

I was in awe at what'd just happened. It was like Someone was trying to make it up. I had given up the book I wanted so much I almost cried (I did, inside) and now I was being presented with an album, which is the basic element of their history. I was so thankful, I am so, so thankful. What if I'd bought another $10 book, a book I didn't even want (no, I want it to be about The Beatles)? What if we'd gone in to the supermarket with my mom? What if my niece had missed the poster?

I'm just so very thankful, I can't believe I have a new Beatles album *tears*. In my mind I kept repeating "this is God, this is God...". Thank You, Mister Man, I say, thanking Him wholeheartedly.

*****

My brother and his wife arrive this afternoon. I hate waiting at the airport, but it's worth it once we're home.

Veronica came over yesterday. So did Norman and Rod. It was great, we hung out in the living room. I think we're going bowling next wednesday. I'll comment on that some other day. Maybe.

I talked to D last night on IM. It was...ok, but..I just can't seem to get over him completely. He said hey, I'd better get going and logged out without saying goodbye (unless in his twisted, shallow world that means goodbye, but in any case it is hurtful). I've thought so much [about him] these past 24 hours, it's even ridiculous. So am I, aren't I?

But I'll leave that for another day, as well, for I don't want to ignore the good things that have happened (Aerosmith and The Beatles) and will happen (meeting my brother and sister in law this afternoon) to me today. I am so, so, so thankful, really. I don't even deserve it. God, I don't know what I've done to deserve such pretty things in life (today's fortunate incident is just another example).

Sheesh.

prev / next