Worst morning ever (but the family is quite alright).
Monday, 08/11/03 - 4:07 pm.

I woke up at 4:45 am. It wasn't as hard as hard as I thought it would be. Besides, it's great to see the beautiful five-in-the-morning sky. Pink, yellow, blue, white, gray, dark green. Amazing.

We arrived to the airport at around 6:30. It was my mom, my brother Alan and me, and Denise's (my brother's wife) parents dropping off Renan, Denise, Renan (nephew) and Rebeca. Denise's parents decided to leave as soon as they disappeared after the check-in. The three of us decided to wait. It was a good thing, because Denise was carrying a swiss pocket knife in her hand luggage, and she would've had to throw it away (instead, Alan will take it and give it back to her, when he leaves for Houston next week).

That is understandable, no pocket knives. She just forgot to pack it on the big suitcase. But they also had to leave Rebeca's bag of marbles. But that's understandable, too. A 9 year old girl could shove marbles down the crew's throats or use them as bullets.

We were waving at them for the last time. No tears, thank God. I was afraid somebody would break down and pass the feeling to the rest of us, but everybody was cool. Anyway, we were waving at them for the last time and I felt something was wrong. I told my mom I had to go home because my period had arrived early.

See, the plan was that after the airport, I would be dropped off at the UCA to register my subjects for this semester. I had a specific time to be there to do so, and I still had to pay the matriculation. Luckily, my mom found a pharmacy, and the problem was quickly (err, relatively) solved.

But the real thing was only starting. On the way from the airport to the UCA, I started to have the period pains.

I arrived at the UCA at 9, and lined up at the bank. This huge ass line that took me an hour and a half to go through. I had to get out of it twice to go throw up, as well. If you're not a girl that gets severe period pains (aching knees, throw-up, womb cramps, headaches, hurting spine), you can't fully understand what it's like to have them while you're lining up.

My friend Shaq'a, from high school, lined up behind me (although an hour after I'd arrived) so at least I got to be entertained. I had already thrown up the first time and lost my place in line, so at least the second time around he kept it for me (I never told him I was sick).

I paid at the bank, and headed to the awful line to register my subjects. 50 unbereable minutes, plus 10 of the registering process (that also included lining up). I did come home at noon. In a terrible mood, on the verge of breaking down, not knowing who I should blame and insult and kick and hate for scheduling these three major happenings (the heartbreaking leaving of my brother and family, the infuriating UCA lining up and the painful arrival of the period) at the same time.

I had to take a bath. All of my clothes, except for the socks were dirty and/or stained, of either of two bodily fluids. I can't even begin to describe how miserable and tired I was feeling.

Then I fell asleep, and when I woke up, I had the feeling it was the next day. What a horrible morning. Worst morning ever, without a doubt. Veronica called, to check on me. I saw her when I was leaving the UCA, and she noticed I was sick. I told her I was ok though.

I honestly didn't want to run into anybody today. I wasn't in the mood. Shaq'a is some sort of a superficial friend, the ones you have to have a laugh or two. So he doesn't really count, I'm actually glad he showed up.

I remembered this morning that it's my second anniversary with 1. I haven't see him in a month, hardy-har-har. Everyday I feel more and more like I'm pulling a Cynthia Lennon on him, and that's not good. Not for his feelings, anyway. But I don't know, perhaps it's because I haven't seen him. The truth is I wouldn't mind stay single for the rest of my life. I love my family the most, really.

Last night, my whole family (family meaning: parents, siblings, sisters-in-law and nephew and niece) was having dinner home, along with my aunt and two cousins, when the lights went out. It was great, because although everything was dark, we were all together under the same roof, having a thousand laughs and listening to my brother playing the guitar.

He also played it in my bedroom, long after everybody had gone and the lights had come on. He was tuning it, and I was just staring at him. He truly can play the guitar. *sigh* We just called him to see if they made it ok...the plane had an emergency (*gasp*), but they're home now, the four of them arrived safely. I'll miss them so much.

prev / next