After-virus entry.
Monday, 08/18/03 - 7:04 pm.

Ok, so it happened that my computer was attacked by a virus. A worm, more properly (NO! notthatone, Ihavewindows98, ok?!). I kicked it out relatively quickly, but it caused severe damage to the video card, translated into a VGA screen. I could only choose between 2 and 16 colors.

We came to the awful conclusion that we had to do the Quick Restore thing. On the bright side, we could finally get rid of many programs and shit that were taking up a lot of space in the hard drive.

On the dark side, I lost all of my Aerosmith stuff. And I mean rare stuff, like a 1984 video live, and many, many outtakes and mixes and other shit. Let's say...I lost an average of 800 MB, between Aerosmith rarities that I will never find again (because the sites disappeared or the files were taken down due to bandwith overload) and other find-able stuff, like the Yellow Submarine movie.

But now I'm thinking getting anything off the internet isn't worth the trouble, because one day it could be gone again. And I don't want to overload the hard drive like I already had. I don't have a CD burner, you realize. Otherwise, I'd still have all of my stuff and I wouldn't be bitching *tears and more tears*

I have to download basic programs again (like the MSN messenger), though. I have to copy all of the contacts' e-mails addresses to the address book again. I have to copy the little things I could save in a floppy disk (15 diskettes, with very humble files) to the hard drive...This thing of starting all over isn't very pleasant when it's not an entire start-over and you're carrying luggage.

And oh, I can't remember the password to my internet provider free e-mail account. But the only thing I get it's spam, so perhaps it's not that bad. I might consider letting it die.

I got fed up with computers. I worked on my own and on my brother's laptop (his does have a CD burner and I had to burn a few pictures) for two days straight. I saved files, I erased the hard drive....SO many things I'm sure you don't care about. At times I felt like crying. Everything was so frustrating, and long, and confusing and complicated and everything required to restart the PC. I'm the only one in this household that understands about computers, so it's all "do this", "do that", "how do I do it?"...they should take some time to learn, even if it's by themselves. I have, why the fuck can't they?

The only good thing is that I got to play The Sims again. But maybe I will uninstall it again. I have only 4GB, you know? I hate this computer. And I hate that they're so expensive, as well.

I suppose I've talked too much. I'll have to leave my life for tomorrow. You see, I was thinking of writing offline when I felt like (kind of like what she does) and save it until I got my Internet service again, but I got lazy, most of all. Eh.

prev / next