Sad news from Panama and talk-show.
Tuesday, 09/16/03 - 12:13 pm.

Yesterday my parents got an e-mail from a lady who lives in Panama. You see, when my family was exiled to Panama during the civil war (the early 80s), this lade and her husband basically took care of them (have in mind my family left with practically no lugagge, to a place they'd never been to before, and where they knew nobody).

I was born some time after they came back from Panama, so I never met that couple. Dad always say that "there's a good samaritan, everywhere" who will always help you. I can't speak for the entire humanity, but at least that's true for him, because whenever he's in major trouble, someone appears and shows him the way. I think that can be generalized to the whole family. Perhaps it's just a matter of believing.

Anyway. The e-mail said that her husband had just died from pneumonia. I never met that man, but I shed a tear or two in my room, when it hit me. I realized it was like I did know him, because dad often reminisces the heartbreakingly beautiful moments of the exile and brings that couple up, and what a blessing they were. If it wasn't for that couple, my family would have been miserable (material wise, at least we were all together) and my siblings wouldn't have gotten presents for that particular christmas in exile.

***

I was watching Maury yesterday (yes, guilty pleasure), and I was amazed at the case of a girl that had no clue who the father of her daughter was. She took 7 guys and none of them was the father. She cried, but I suppose she could've thought twice about having sex with so many guys in such a short time. I don't consider having sex out of wedlock a sin but I do believe people should refrain...pragmatism, that's all. The world is not a bright place nowadays.

I just lost my train of thought.

prev / next