Bad start.
Tuesday, 11/27/01 - 11:15 a.m..

This weather is not the best to be eating ice cream but there's no more pumpkin pie so ice cream with ice and bacon bits it is.....well, just ice cream. It's "homemade", or so the bowl says. Why would someone buy "homemade" ice cream at the supermarket when he could make it at home?

Bad start for today. Renan got mad because his mom made him change his clothes...that's easy to understand, he was wearing shorts. But he got mad because he asked her yesterday if those were ok, she said yeah, they're ok. Then he got mad because he couldn't find his sweater...this kid is growing so fuckin' fast, so neither of the things he has would fit him.

He asked his dad, my brother, for help, but really mad. My brother didn't like that, plus he was really late, so he was in a bad, bad mood, too. He warned Renan, he'd take off the belt and....you know. Renan got his cup of coffee and tried to throw it at him, I tried to grab him to calm him down but he said he'd go to school that way, he got his backpack and got out of the house crying.

Rebeca was already on her way to the bus stop, since these kids seem to take turns when it comes to get pissed off. She was really calm. She just stayed away from all this madness and left on time (besides, she had her own little umbrella). So I got the umbrella and ran behind Renan. I gave it to him because it was raining. He said he was hungry (he didn't even eat), he had forgotten the note from his dad to his teacher (to let her know he's riding the bus this afternoon), he had forgotten his Harry Potter book...he was crying with anger and to top it off, he had nothing on to protect himself from the rain and the wind. Good thing he at least was wearing a long sleeve shirt and a vest.

I gave him my coat so he'd at least be a little warmer while waiting for the bus. We got to the bus stop and there wasn't anyone. We stayed there, hoping it hadn't arrived when my brother's car approached. He offered the kids to take them to school. Rebeca said yes but Renan said no. So they both stayed with me and he left. I decided to run back to the house and get Renan's coat, book, and something to eat. I started running as fast as a I could...and I'm so fuckin' slow...I arrived, got his coat but couldn't find anything else, except for a pop-tart. I started running again to the bus stop and right before I crossed the block I saw the bus coming....shit, I won't make it. Thank God there was a good lady who asked the bus driver to wait for me. So I gave Renan the coat and the bus left.

Then I started walking home as slow as I could, crying. For everything that had happened. When I arrived home, I saw the stupid Harry Potter book in the kitchen. Then I saw the note to the teacher in a chair. Then I felt the pop-tart in my pocket. Then I realized that Renan took my umbrella and I was wet. All that happened in maybe 10 minutes.

On a happier note, I did a lot of stuff yesterday. I picked up the kids at 3:20, prepared a snack, helped them with the homework and read something about the sacrament of Reconciliation with them. I cooked spaguetti, scrambled eggs, watched 7th Heaven, sewed Renan's pants, helped my brother to take out the garbage, cleaned up a bit...I did so, so many things since the kids arrived. But I was happy with all that and they were happy with me. It was a great day. I just hope today gets better. It started out pretty bad.

If I could, I surely would
stand on the rock that Moses stood...
.

Hangman Jury is probably one of my favorite songs. I hate choosing favorites but this one rocks with a southern accent.

Stuff to do today: take some stuff from the garage to the yard, get the kids, help them studying, take Renan to church at 5, get Rebeca ready for basketball at 6, prepare my lunch, prepare dinner...I think there's something else I'm missing.

I'm not homesick yet. I wrote my parental units and other people last night. I felt this thing though...when I got home after the bus took off, I felt I needed someone to take care of me, at least in that moment. Someone who would tell me if I did the right thing by going with Renan. Something tells me I did though. I love him and I hate it when shit like that happens. He needed my brother's help. But it's not his and Denise's fault either. They work their asses off to get what the kids need, but they barely have time to relax, time for themselves, so they're stressed most of times. And this stresses the kids. It's a huge problem. Anyway, although I knew I had made the right choice ("right" I don't know, but I was glad I made that one) I still needed someone to take care of me, I was feeling a bit sick. I was feeling hot and cold at the same time. I mean, I ran as fast as I could while it was raining. I didn't know if I should take a hot water bath because of the cold or a cold water bath because I was sweating. I was feeling really sick and exhausted.

There's no sun today but.....fuck, it's already 11 am, so I'd better get going. I thought I'd have a lot of free time but apparently it's not that way. I'll go clean up the garage. I found this thing to make bubbles in there...I love bubbles, I was thinking of buying a machine. I won't. But I do love bubbles. You can get a lot of interesting shit just by watching a little one.

- Don't forget the skeletons!
- I don't.

The weather report said that it's going to be cold these days. There was also a tornado watch last night, but not for this county. I'll go get my coat and my ruby slippers. You just never know.

prev / next