Only one girl showed up (warning: boring entry).
Saturday, 07/30/05 - 9:01 pm.

Things didn't go as planned this morning. Only one girl showed up, and I think I found her by pure fluke. In retrospective, I was meeting with four girls and Victor, to go interview parents for the project about child abuse.

I was late from the airport, where we put my sister and nephew on a plane to Mexico. Actually, they put themselves in it, and were excited about it. My aunt and her son were tagging along. It was like seeing my sister and her own son in 20 years, they're the same. They make a good team (both my sister and nephew, and my aunt and cousin...and my nephew and cousin share the name, too).

The experience of interviewing was strange. The place was extremely poor, and words fail me to describe it accurately. Only if you've been in this country (or a similar one) you may get a raw picture, and it isn't pretty. I'd never been in one of those rural communities myself, but it was exactly as I'd imagined. It's hard to conceive people live in those conditions.

Well, I interviewed a woman, the godmother of the cute tomboy I met on thursday. She was nice. Then I met up with Sara, the lady in charge of the project, and she was interviewing somebody else. Later on, with Victor. Long story short, the end.

I spent the afternoon watching Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind with my niece. I know it's for 15 year-olds and up, but I said I trusted her. She didn't get it much, but what she did get, she liked it.

Joseph called me and went on and on about how much he loved and couldn't wait to marry me. Hopefully I'll be able to sneak out tomorrow afternoon and go see him. But he scared me when he said my dad might have already caught up with us, realizing we are back together...because my dad always answers his calls.

This is the moment I talked about last night. Yay. And now I'll go read a clockwork orange. Bye.

prev / next