Home, bittersweet home
Sunday, Jul. 23, 2023 - 10:30 pm.

Hello from my home country. The journey home felt very long, it seemed to take a week (horrible lines at airports, turbulence), but overall it took me about 22 hours from door to door. And all worth it once I get to be with my family.

Plus, I flew business class all the way. The trip was still rough, but a comfortable, roomy seat helps a lot.

I just wanted to check in and say I'm happy that I get to see my parents, Brother #1 who's in town for a conference (met for dinner tonigh, breakfast tomorrow and then he's leaving back home), my sister, Brother and sister-in-law #3, and Nephew #2. And the latter's girlfriend, or rather ex girlfriend, as she's leaving to study abroad this week and they broke up :( They're setting each other free, which is painful but also very mature. Bless these kids.

Anyway! I've also met with the few friends I always hit up when I'm in town. It brings me some much joy going out for a meal or for coffee with people and do some serious catch-up.

On the other hand, it breaks my heart a little being back. It's the nostalgia, the fear, the good times I had, the people I love, the wish for things to be different -humane- in this country. A lot of things stay the same, others have changed, but nothing has improved. On the contrary, everything gets worse: poverty, corruption, violence, arrogance and road rage, human rights violations, full-on destruction of nature.

Home, sweet home, I guess.

I'll work a bit, but this week is uni winter break for me so I should act accordingly. Also, I'm kind of missing Helen, but it's probably just my horny side talking.

I'll try to check in before flying back home on Friday, but I can't promise anything. I'm just making the most of this trip, spending as much time as I can with family and friends. I'm grateful for this chance.

prev / next