Paperwork to reach adulthood milestones
Friday, Aug. 04, 2023 - 8:25 pm.

I had a lot of work to catch up on after the winter break, so I barely survived the week. I'm exhausted, but in a good way? I did stuff! Andrew and I made progress on our adulthood milestones!

Part of my job is to develop a sexuality and gender research and academic line in my uni, so I've been doing that. I gave a talk this week to uni professors in that regard, although I wasn't fully satisfied with how I presented my takeaway message. It should have been something more practical. But it was good enough, I guess.

Speaking of my job, I start teaching my first undergraduate course ever in this uni on August 22nd. I've taught undergraduate courses before, under very precarious conditions, and I barely remember it by now. This feels like a first because it's *my uni*, not some rando uni that pays me only (and poorly) classroom hours and costs me my digestive system.

To be fair, my uni would also do that to me if I hadn't gotten myself a grant elsewhere that pays my salary. But you know, progress.

The paperwork for buying our apartment is underway. Slowly but surely. At this pace, however, we might move in until november or december. Not ideal, but it still feels nice to know that we're getting a place of our own sooner than later.

The updates on the paperwork for our adoption is underway too. We met with the psychologist who will review our case, and we'll have four or five sessions.

Fingers crossed that by the end of the year not only we'll be living in our own place, but we'll also be declared fit to adopt.

Our apartment has a few schools nearby, and there's also the uni's kindergarten and daycare. Andrew likes to picture himself/ourselves, walking our kid to school with their tiny backpack on, and then walking to our workplace. That sounds lovely.

*

I've been mindful of what I said in my last entry, about trying to get back my connection with my inner life. I've had no luck this week, haha. I did manage to write a quick entry on my personal blog (that's for the masses, you're in the VIP section) on Monday.

Then Tuesday and Thursday are for my sign language lessons, which are insanely fun and amazing *claps in sign language* but also a bit hard and demanding. On Wednesday night I was beat and Andrew and I had our first meeting with the adoption psychologist. But finally here I am on Friday night, writing in my diary like the nerd I am.

I'm very much looking forward to the weekend. We have no plans so I want to write and draw and catch up with my life outside of work. I do like my work but, you know, it'd be nice to retire.

See you next week.

prev / next