At home today, on the road tomorrow
Saturday, Nov. 25, 2023 - 10:18 am.

It's our second week at our new apartment, and it feels like we've lived here for longer. We still have quite a few items on our to-do list, but almost everything is in its place, and our daily life flows swimmingly.

My main complaint at the moment is that Andrew and I are flying to Argentina on Tuesday, and we'll be back on Saturday. We are attending a Psych Conference. I should be more excited about the trip, if anything because I've never been to Argentina, but with everything I have to do at work and with us trying to settle down in our new home, I'd rather not go anywhere this week.

Plus, the new government of that country. It might not affect us directly during our trip (it will for sure have an awful impact in wider, political terms), but it's scary shit. I'm presenting as part of sexual and gender diversity panels, so it will be interesting to hear first-hand what's to come. Not that we don't know, or at least have a notion of it.

On another note, I find myself missing my family a lot lately. My two brothers, sisters-in-law and nephews and nieces living in the US got together for Thanksgiving and I felt so happy for them but also deep melancholy. Most of them will be traveling to our home country to spend the holidays with our parents and our other two siblings, and... I won't be there. I'd decided I wasn't going to travel these holidays: money), time, energy, not celebrating with Andrew. But i keep second-guessing myself.

I'll keep this entry short, as this is the first day since we moved in that we might stay home for a whole day without errands or meeting with people. Note the "might", stuff always comes up. Gotta prepare that trip, too. Bye for now.

prev / next