I hope it won't rain like this my whole stay.
Thursday, 12/16/04 - 11:09 am.

Since I can't go out, I'm updating. It's been raining the whole morning, so we can't go anywhere. There's only one umbrella, and it's just for one person.

There's three of us in this house (my brother Renan's house): my brother Carlos, my nephew Javier and me. Renan is at work, of course...so is Denise, his wife, but they're separated, remember? I haven't seen her, and I wish they could work things out now. I'm afraid our visit is the, or part of the problem, although they both insist is something else, is "normal stuff that goes on once in a while in a marriage"...I'll give them the beneift of the doubt.

My parents are staying at a hotel in the area. You get there in about 5 minutes by car, but walking it could take 20-30 minutes. We dropped them off there last night after going to Denny's for dinner...the hotel is next to it. They were coming over at 10 am today, but guess what? it's raining. They said they'd have breakfast at Denny's and then they'd manage to come over. I don't know how they plan on getting through all that, since they do not speak english and..it's raining (I already said that, didn't I?).

Denise, like I said, hasn't come over. I think she talked to my parents last night, I'm not sure. I feel sorry for the kids, Renan and Rebeca. Rebeca said to me sadly that she missed her mom, and that she wished her parents got back together already. I didn't really know what to say. I could only tell her to be patient. That's what I'm doing, anyway.

I slept on the couch, that's probably the most comfortable couch in the world. I slept so well that at 6:30 am I was waking up, not tired nor sore at all. I helped the kids with the morning rush (breakfast, keeping them for fighting over who takes the shower first). They're just exploiting you, my brother Renan said. They like to get like that, "nobody cooks for us", but they can do it by themselves and they actually do it.

The rest of the morning has just been me trying to find places to leave our belongings without invading too much space, and looking after Javier. Truth is there's really not much to do around here if it's raining, other that being on the computer or in front of the TV. Denise was the one who told me things I could help with around the house, but obviously now I have no orders to follow, and I'm kind of erratic.

So far my most significant activities seem to be reading the final days of John Lennon (I don't know if all that is true, but it's amusing) and playing the guitar.

That's ok for now, but I don't want to spend the whole month like this. This time I came with the idea of getting out more (to get used to it and do the same back home), and I will...as soon as it stops raining.

prev / next