"His name is Big Bird, mom".
Monday, 06/17/02 - 10:45 pm.

Yeah, I feel better. I'm not annoyed anymore. I just needed to vent.

Simeon arrived and we worked on a short tale, about a content tomato with human anatomy and a psychologist snowman with voices in his head. They were living in the tropic and then moved out to the south pole, riding scooters.

Tonight I laughed at Frog, because she's very dumb. She's the sweetest dummy (Iloveher). I found a Big Bird doll and it had the same expresion in his face Frog has when I pull her hair off her eyes. I cracked up. But my mom kept telling me to keep the doll away from Frog's face, always refering to Big Bird as the duck.

While I was listening to Frog scratching the floor, as if she was digging for petroleum, I thought of recording her behavior on cassette.

And then I remembered a tape my mom mentions once in a while. It's from the time I was a baby, she recorded my conversations with a lamp. I once found it and listened to it. It was pretty cute. Only when you're 11 months old, you're not very eloquent.

So my mom wonders where it is now and then. I do know where it is. You see, I kept it. But I don't refer to it as "the tape of me when I was a baby". Now it's actually called "Aerosmith tape to re-record over and over again" (for when I feel like making a new mixtape).

Ssssshhh, don't tell my mom.

No, I didn't record over because of embarrassment. I just needed a new tape (some years ago) and that was the only one at my reach. No, I don't regret it. But again, I wasn't embarrased to hear that tape. I mean, when you're a little one, you do stupid things, and that's ok, you're allowed to be stupid because you're cute. Then you grow up and you have to make up the loss of your cutesy with something like common sense or a spirit of service towards housework.

But that's not the point. The point is, the tomato with human anatomy and the snowman arrived to the south pole and the tomato melted.

prev / next