Parents leaving, and a new guest.
Saturday, 10/14/06 - 11:44 pm.

My parents are going to Panama tomorrow, for a week. I'm excited about this little breaks, but contrary to the majority of the young population, I don't throw parties and the like. Some may say I'm boring, I say I have a very strong Super Ego.

AND I only have five friends, plus Joseph. I was thinking about that a couple of days ago. I'll most likely lose contact with them when we graduate, and then I'll only have Joseph. In the meantime, though, I'm getting the most out of our cool friendship. Irene's confirmation was today, and I showed up. Victor did, too. And Victoria. And Husband was there, because mass was in my old school's church, and he works there. She was happy to see us there. Nonetheless, I was happy to see them all.

I have BIG news:
After a lot of begging, my mom said "ok, ask your dad". After two mentions of the subject, my dad told me to show it to him and tell him its name. There were conditions, like I'll pick up Frog's gifts in the garden (a task I always neglected) and "as long as it doesn't bother ME".

I'm getting a cat. A siamese cat. Rose's husband is a watchman, and in the neighborhood he works at there's a family who is giving away their two cats. But not just to anybody, it has to be someone who loves and takes care of animals as they do. And I do.

I went to their house today. The cats, male and female, are one year old, and gorgeous. The problem is that the lady thinks I'll keep both, and that's the condition, actually. I can't split them, because the female has some personality troubles, and the lady fears she might die. It's bad enough changing domicile, they're also changing owner (well, staff...you know what they say, "dogs have masters, cats have staff"). Rose had come with me, and picked up the female, who started shedding hair like crazy. Actually, she scared me. She reminded me of my niece. I don't want to deal with anyone like that.

The boy, on the other hand, is a sweetheart. That's the one I plan on keeping. I really, really, really hate to split them, because I do fear it'd be too stressful for the both of them...but I didn't know Rose's husband had told the lady that I was keeping them both. I'd told him to tell her I wanted just one, but he said so for her to give in. He says he and Rose can have the other one. But it'd be the girl, and that concerns me.

So I talked to Joseph. He LOVES cats (I'm still more of a dog person), but his mom won't let him have one. He says, though, that if I was the one to ask her, she'd say yes. And he could have the girl. If we see any trouble with the cats being away from one another, I guess we'd have to leave it to Joseph's mom to find a home that'd take the two. She only has high-class friends, and she's done it a lot of times.

And here's another problem: the lady asked me if she can come to my house sometimes and see them. WHAT? NO! I wouldn't mind, really, but...one of them won't be here, and she'd probably freak out at that; she's a little neurotic, it seemed to me. But other than that, I totally understand. She's so sorry to give them away, but she has a baby, and siamese cats don't get along very well with babies ("lady and the tramp" reference, etc.).

I've been reading about owning a siamese cat. They're quite a handful, with a stronger temperament than most pets. I worry about Frog, too. But I've picked up a few advices, and I'm hoping that with patience and affection, he'll get used to this and will feel at home eventually.

Luckily, my parents won't be home this week, so they won't have to endure the cat's adjusting problems. I won't give out the name, until he's here, and the female isn't. I'm not too crazy about the name, but it's ok, I guess.

Oh, I haven't told Joseph my parents are leaving, and I won't. Because then he'll get all needy and obssessed with the idea of spending the night together. I'm in love with him, and I'd love to, but I don't feel comforable sneaking out for the night to go to his place. Him staying over is also out of the question, because sister and nephew will sleep over. In general, he'll get more demanding in terms of time, which kind of gets on my nerves (I'll try to be more with him, but then again, I have to keep acting like my parents are here). I know those behaviors, they come up when my parents go out of town for two days; I'd hate to deal with this for a week.

Well, more on all these topics soon.

prev / next