I'm thinking about reconsidering it.
Monday, 01/17/05 - 3:17 pm.

Finally, I'm the owner of a copy of the first Aerosmith DVD You Gotta Move. I got it yesterday, when we finally got out of the house, to go to the supermarket. I haven't watched the thing, and I have heard it isn't as great as a real Aerosmith fan would expect (since it's wrongly marketed as a one-night raw presentation), but it's Aerosmith. The end.

The kids stayed home today, but my niece went over to a friend's house, to FINALLY start working on her science project. She's actually been charming all day, so has my nephew. That is quite strange.

Maybe The Blair Witch Project had something to do with that. We rented it, I suggested it. They loved it, and my niece kept asking me if that's a true story. But by now she already figure it out. I should start playing scary movies for them to watch late at night, maybe that'll keep them calm and quiet and nice the day after.

In the afternoon, before we went to the store, I got fed up of this house (yesterday the kids were annoying) and just went out for a pointless walk. It was great. It's a very simple thing to do, but it's also a thing I can't do at home, walk around the neighborhood with my headphones on. I mean, I could, but the risk of turning into a victim is exaggeratedly higher. This enviroment is so different from my own; at home everything (houses, people) seems to be crammed and even polluted, and you expect a guy with a knife to jump on you at any second, to rob you or even worse.

I'm giving it a lot of thought, I've been thinking of staying longer. Everybody asks me to stay, my brother, my sister in law, my nephew and my niece. And yes, as a matter of fact, I am helpful around here. I'm my own age, and not 11 years old like I am back in my house. I'm learning to cook (I have prepared a rack of ribs for tonight) and I'm reading and learning about photography.

But staying longer means a lot of trouble. First and foremost, my 8 year-old nephew would have to go back on his own, and my parents would never let that happen, though they'd have no means to stop me if I decided to do so; plus, I have all the annoying paperwork that states my nephew's dad (not involved at all with his mom in any way) gave me the permission to be his guardian for the trip, and such. He's traveling with me, he's like an attachment.

I'd have to pay the change of the flight, and that costs, at least, $100 and that I do not have. I also have an appointment with a professor in the university on february the 1st, and it's obligatory...I chose the date, and I'm kicking myself for not choosing it later...but at the time, I was thinking of the 8 year-old, who starts school on february 4th and like I said, he's traveling with me.

I'm a big help around here, that's what I'm always told. I think I am, and that makes me feel good and encourages me to keep going. I can take care of things I never even think about at home, and that's good. I cook, I repair little things, I look after the kids, I pick them up and/or keep them company (if I drove, I'd be perfect)...and I can go out, walking, and I'm sure no one's going to stare at me on the street, let alone whistle and tell me things (you know how that makes me uncomfortable).

For the record, we're leaving on the 25th. That's almost and only a week away from today.

I'm starting to get depressed, I should go enjoy my day outside.

prev / next