New kid on the block.
Monday, 05/07/07 - 10:23 pm.

Damn. I should've kept a record of what I wanted to say over the days and just post it here when I could, like Blackie did, but I always kept thinking the next day the problem would be fixed (thank you for everything, Andrew).

ANYWAY!!! I have GREAT, BIG, HUGE, PREGNANT NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!! Exactly the day I found out, I couldn't add the entry.

My brother #2, in El Paso, is going to be a dad!!! His girlfriend is pregnant. He called my mom like a week ago, and she started to cry and say "FINALLY!!!". It took us all by surprise. He asked us to help him out with the wedding, which will be celebrated here. HE'S GETTING MARRIED ON JUNE 9TH!!!!

Of course, this modifies all plans previously built. My parents won't be going to Houston during the summer anymore. My brother #2 and his soon-to-be wife will stay at brother #1's house while #2 finds one of their own, instead of buying a bachelor's apartament near the medical center (in july he starts working in Houston). And tons more of changes, and lots of running around for meeting the bride's parents, making the invitation cards, the flower arrangements, the people for the ceremony, the places where we could hold a reception, the usual headaches when you plan something this big.

But we are so, so happy. A new family member is coming. A baby. I'm going to be an aunt again. And I wonder, a boy or a girl? What's gonna be his/her name? How will (s)he look like? However, I'm already fearing that he'll live far away, and the culture the kid will grow in...I mean, all that middle school crap, it's hell. But I'll worry about that some other day. I do hope the kid turns out to be nothing like my niece and her puberty crisis, though (speaking of her, for a while it seemed like she was coming for the wedding, but in the end, she won't; I really wanted to see her).

Now, the next good news is that JOSEPH IS COMING WITH ME TO THE WEDDING!!! Gosh, I spent three days thinking how to ask my mom, and fearing rejection...not because of him being unwanted, it's just that the guest list is turning out too long and well, inviting one more who really has nothing to do with the family (YET) made me fear the worst. But tonight I asked my mom if I, as a member of the family, was entitled to bring someone along. Someone, Joseph? Yeah, I've told you repeteadly that you can to bring him to family meetings. It's nice that we get to know each other, and it's not really a compromise, that just because we meet him you're automatically walking down the aisle; we could meet his parents sometime..... Yeah, a little lecture. But she was totally ok and didn't hesitate on accepting him. That's what matters.

So, my whole family will meet Joseph, my brother is getting married and I'll have a new nephew/niece by december or january. I'm thrilled. THRILLED!!!

So let's not ruin it by me telling how, for the first time in my career, I've flunked two midterms (didn't *fail*, but the grade is considerably low). We'll catch up later.

prev / next