Of anger, being a psychologist and extracurricular plans.
Tuesday, 09/05/06 - 10:52 pm.

A lot of things bother me. Joseph pisses me off sometimes. I have low tolerance when it comes to frustration, and instead of wishing to refrain my impulses, I wish I could explode and beat people up in the street. This morning something went wrong with the printer, and I hit my hand against the wall and cried really hard, in front of my mom.

Sometimes I fear there's really something wrong with me when it comes to anger. I get angry easy over details. Anger is painful to me, because I can't release it as I feel I should. But if I did, I'd be hurtful, or I'd destroy things....I'd do things I'd later regret.

In Psychological Treatment (about clinical psych), I'm learning a lot about being a psychologist...opposed to simply being "major in psychology", as my professor says. He says we can be the most skillful to solve other people's problems, but we'll still fail at solving our own. Like a few couple therapists he's known, that are the most prestigious in their area, and yet they've been divorced a few times. That doesn't make them any less skilled than a guy (real life guy) who has the same job and has been married for 55 years. Although, first off, you won't know about their divorces, because you're not supposed to know your therapist's personal life; that changes the whole relationship, for worse. But I digress.

As I've said before, this semester is sort of a relax, although there's still a lot of pressure. However, I'm thinking that I could invest some of my time in volunteering. I'm not sure in what, though, I need to get informed. Also, I'm thinking of taking a first-aid class. On the other hand, my plans of learning french on my own have fallen through. I haven't given up on learning, but I haven't kept up with it either. Toi et moi. That I can say.

Victor and I made the deadline to send in our article on sexual harrasment, to a university's magazine in a neighbor country (sister university to my own, may I add). They confirmed they got it, so we're in the contest. I doubt we'll win anything, but we're hopeful nonetheless. Getting published would be great.

And now, the end.

prev / next