Well, I certainly didn't see this coming.
Sunday, 03/29/09 - 12:22 pm.

There's a reason why I haven't updated, even though I've had the intention. But first onto quick, fun happenings.

I went out with CR on friday night. It was a little dull, but fun enough. I was hoping to see a friend from university (friend of CR's too) but he didn't answer the phone. Al was scanning stuff for his on-and-off girlfriend, currently ex, and had to work the next day. So it was just the both of us. We went to a bar, he talked a lot, I got dizzy with vodka, we stopped at BK's drivethru for twister fries that we ate on his way home, and I went into his house. If I liked him, I'd be getting some by now. He lives alone, in a place that reminded me of Fight Club's Paper Street house. There's nothing to sit on, except for two chairs, the toilet and the floor. No bed, no dining room table. It's kind of neat, really.

Last night I attended a get-together with my cousins from my dad's side. Our parents, aunts, uncles and other relatives have had a family feud for years, decades even, but us children decided this is not of our concern and we should carry on being close-knit, as it was always intended by our grandma -whom I never met. Us "children" is an understatement, though, because aside from 4 of us, everybody is from 35 to 50 years old. We're 15 altogether, but keep in mind that 5 from those are my siblings and I. 12 attended, some with spouses and kids. It was great, it's amazing getting back in touch with your roots like that.

So, anyway, the reason I have been failing to update is my friend Art. We talk online until it's 2 am. I admit it, the first time we chatted with the webcams on I felt like I was falling for him. We've done it two more times ever since. It's like watching a silent movie: first comes the gesture on webcam and then comes the idea on the conversation window. Odd.

Yes, it's been a little flirty, but it crossed the line last night (err, this morning), when he asked me to be his girlfriend. I said, and I believe, it'd be difficult, considering we live in different countries. I'd like to, really. It's very strange. He's been my friend since 2001-2002 and we've always been affectionate and stuff...and now it feels so natural to suddenly be called "sweetheart", or that I tell a joke (haha, it was a good one, even if I say so myself) and he likes it so much that he says "I could kiss you right now".

However, I refuse to have a long-distance relationship. As such, seeing him through a webcam is as much gratification as I'll get; it would be a photocopy of last night: cute name-calling, jokes and gestures, when in reality I'm all alone in my room. There's no room to grow up as a team, no holding hands, no playing with his tongue piercing (*cough*). He'll be visiting some time this year, as he does every year, for two weeks, but that's about it. The only way we could work something out is if I won the scholarship (I have heard nothing so far!) and I was sent to California, where he lives.

So yeah, no sweat. I think I'm a little in love with him, but geography isn't on our side. Period.

prev / next