JC has proven to be worth the effort.
Monday, 05.24.10 - 10:55 pm.

I got a call this evening: JC asking me if I was free to go for coffee. We were pending to meet up since his birthday and we went to a Subway near my house. Dinner instead of coffee, you see. It was past 6 pm. I thought he was coming to my area because a thesis partner lives nearby and so he was taking the chance to meet up with me.

But no, he actually just drove from our university to my house (some 20 to 30 minutes) in rush hour for me. That's very sweet of him. If I'd known that, I would have chosen a more neutral ground, so neither of us would have had to drive a lot. But aaaaaawwww.

We are missing the chemistry and intimacy we used to have in our interaction, but that's only normal, considering what we went through. Nevertheless, he's hilarious, as usual, and we had a great time, especially when he started teaching me about soccer, writing stuff down on a napkin.

I do not ask him how things are going with his girlfriend. That topic is off-limits and I think he and I are aware of this. On the other hand, as I heard him speak today, I could see why I once fell so hard for him and I felt a little spark once again. But I assure you it can't evolve into anything else; it already did and we crashed and burned (well, he did and brought me down with him). I learned my lesson and he's just a good friend of mine.

I came home smiling. I'm so happy we got to save our friendship and we can hang out again. I've worked so hard to overcome my heartbreak over him and guess what? He's done his part, too. He's kept his distance while also keeping in touch with me. That's pretty remarkable, no? He's shown he cares about me, even if it's not in the way I'd hoped for.

I even think it's funny that I have such a past with him. To think that I made out with him countless times, that his hands explored my body in its entirety, that I took his virginity...and now, six months later, we are in a Subway, talking enthusiastically about the World Cup like nothing happened...I don't know, there's something awesome about that. Perhaps is what I would have wanted with Joseph...have some time to heal (without being replaced), know what was going on, reorganize his presence in my life and be friends, or at least good acquaintances. But I digress.

I'm still not healed enough to add him back to my contact list, or un-hide him on FB. I still ache a little when I think of all the expectations he built in me for nearly six months, how he shattered them in less than a week and how he got back to his ex gilrfriend a few months later after that.

But I am less bitter about all that than I was before. I enjoy getting his text messages and his e-mails and I can write him without worrying that he'll take my interest in contacting him the wrong way. We have our in-jokes, too: a few days ago, he texted me: "do you think the price of a 2010 agenda has lowered enough by now so I can buy one?". Once we discussed owning an agenda at lenght, and I told him they got cheaper after New Year. This is a stretch and his text made me laugh out loud. I'm surpised he remembered.

Oh, and when he was driving away, he stuck his hand out the window and showed me the Mario Bros plushie I gave him for Christmas (thanks to the awesome work of Blackie). Sometimes I think I scared him away with all the gifts I gave him, but I'm so glad to see that he keeps them, as he keeps our in-jokes, and appreciates them.

So, I'm good with JC. This makes me so happy.

Quickies:

- I have bought my travel package to go to Costa Rica in a week. OHMYGOD, I'M SEEING AEROSMITH AGAIN!!!! I dreamed that Steven Tyler was in my house and he gave me a lot of autographs *hearts*

- Unfortunately, tomorrow I'll work the whole day so I can make up for the days I'll be in Costa Rica. Meh. And seriously: OHMYGOD, I'M SEEING AEROSMITH AGAIN!!!!

- Sam told me tonight that he wants to take me bowling, because a few days ago I mentioned I hadn't played in ages. Come to think of it, it sounded *almost* like he was asking me out on a date.

prev / next