Quick recap of two very eventful weeks.
Wednesday, 06.27.2012 - 9:03 pm.

I don't have a lot of time because in a few minutes I'll turn the computer off and go with Andrew to have some quality time together. It may not sound very romantic that we set aside a time in advance, but trust me, it does wonders. Anyway, I also hate leaving this diary without updates for so long, so I'll say a little something. I haven't written in here in 13 days, yikes.

So, quick recap:

1. Two weekends ago, we spent friday and saturday at this wonderful cabin, with view to the lake. We rented a car and I drove, my first time driving here! It was amazing (a little tiring) driving through the country, with Andrew by my side and listening to good music. Plus, having a car allowed us to move between towns and interesting spots. Otherwise, we would've been stuck at the cabin or depending on cabs and buses (and the cabin was in the middle of nowhere, between two towns).

We came back saturday afternoon and that evening we threw a little party with Andrew's closest friends. Safe to say this is the best birthday he's ever had.

2. Two days later, tuesday, we took a plane to Santiago, then one to Lima, where we spent the night, and then one to Santa Cruz the next day. I wasn't crazy about the city, mostly because it reminded me of a few things that I dislike about my own hometown, namely how all houses and buildings are excessively guarded by gates and walls and guards and razorwire, and how people drive like mad. BUT, it was pleasant nonetheless, new accents to my ears, new sightings. The hotel was very comfortable and the congress was extremely interesting. A great experience all around, I'm so, so thankful for this opportunity.

We almost witnessed the supposed coup d'etat in Bolivia, but looks like it's a work in slow progress, although I hope it can be avoided. We saw a couple of riots and it was a bit scary, but it didn't cause us any trouble.

The trip back home was looong, took us more than 24 hours traveling. Most of that time was spent in airports. But on the plus side, I saw lake Titicaca and the breath-taking Los Andes for a long while.

Wish I could write some more, but my man is calling me.

prev / next