Remembering a friend and enjoying these days.
Sunday, 08.19.2012 - 4:38 pm.

I've been listening to Pulp everyday, preparing for the concert in november. I'm excited about it, except I fear the overjoyed masses. Luckily I'm going with Andrew and close friends and they are well-versed in techniques to protect the group.

I've never gone to a concert where people go wild. At Aerosmith in Costa Rica (good times!), I had to fight a couple of guys who had their arms around their girlfriends, but they were being subtle -kind of- in their pushing and still people just stood around. I've seen Pulp concerts and I've seen crowds in Chile. My body is ready *picture sexy 60s Spiderman laying on railroad tracks*. Not.

The singer in his early years reminds me so much of Joe. Not just physically, Joe had the same deep voice that made me weak in the knees back then. I wonder how he is doing these days. He deleted his Facebook account months and months ago, after he made public that he was moving to Buenos Aires. Good for him. The last times we met he told me how much he wanted to go abroad and work on his music. He's one of the most talented people I've met, he taught me to play guitar (a little) and he made me appreciate jazz; I loved going to his gigs. At some point I thought we'd end up together, but that was just my major years-long crush on him talking. I wish him the best, may he make a living out of his awesome talent.

I'm getting more and more concerned with the end of my scholarship in january. I haven't been able to continue saving, I can't believe how much it costs...living. I don't go on shopping sprees nor we go drinking madly, it's just everyday necessities that add up. But what threw me off this week was the concert ticket and plane ticket, and paying for the vet care of a puppy I picked up a month ago (shots, spaying and also, she turned out to be very sick). The wonderful news is that soon after I posted her picture, she was adopted by a really nice and caring girl. So that was money well invested, eh? I shouldn't complain. But also, I will keep trying to save a bit more in the few months I have left of my scholarship.

I'm starting to search for jobs, ask around, learn about all the steps I have to take here to be legalized, as a citizen and a professional. Surely the first thing would be easier if I just got married to Andrew, which is something we both want to do anyway, but I want my family to get to know him first, at least a little bit. So I'm not sure that will be the way to go.

I've been going to his granparents' house every sunday. I've gained some weight that I can't seem to shake off but they're really nice to me. They speak worlds of Andrew, how he was so sweet since he was a kid and what a wonderful man he is now. He is a gem, I tell you, a kind soul, and often surprises me with little things and makes me laugh and make my heart skip a beat. I do think he's quite happy with me too, so we'll be waking up next to each other for decades to come.

My mom's cancer is, of course, still there. She has her second chemo this week. She's been coming and going to the hospital due to complications but apparently it's nothing that wasn't to be expected, all things considered. I call home twice a week and get updates often. It's so weird, being far away.

Oh, I told my friend Victoria about the ending of The Smiths and she said she'd noticed Ex Mrs Smith was back at her parents' house, they are neighbors with Victoria's family (Victoria is living in Colombia, but is travelling back and forth...and just got married!). She'd seen her go to work every morning and she'd seen Ex Mrs's dad take little Smith for a walk every afternoon. Victoria thought the three of them had moved in, Joseph, his wife and the kid, so she chose not to tell me, which I appreciated. The image of the granddad taking his toddler grandson for a walk broke my heart for some reason, but in general I was just "oh". My friend Michelle said, in a nutshell, that we all knew Joseph never seemed mature enough to run a household (though he could have changed with all that went on).

Me? I never thought I could genuinely feel like a give fuck about all this. Ever since I wrote my last entry, aside from the two comments I got from my friends, I haven't thought about Joseph. I still work on that old short story, but it feels as such and no more.

Oh, I went to a bar last night. One of Andrew's closest friend, J., came from Santiago to celebrate his birthday last night (he's also one of the friends that's going to see Pulp). He's like the ultimate troll but I really like this guy and wish he visited more often, although I feel as inadequate with him as I felt with Lighthouse (and you know how much I liked him and enjoyed being with him). We bought him flowers for laughs, since a few days ago he'd told everyone on FB that a friend of his got flowers a as birthday present from his girlfriend and what was up with that. J cracked up when Andrew gave him the roses and caught it right away. It was a fun night, he's really fun.

Now it's time to plan the week ahead: I see five patients now! And my thesis, I'm stuck on it. And I continue writing stories. And there are two congresses in november that Andrew and I will participate in (three for him...the third is in Buenos Aires, go figure, where I too was going but then my mom got cancer and I'm going to see her instead). The future is uncertain but the present is awesome.

prev / next